Modified Rankin scale

The modified Rankin scale is commonly used to quantify functional outcome in individuals who suffer a neurological event. The scale was initially described by Rankin in 1957 to assess the outcome of cerebrovascular accidents 1. It has subsequently been modified 2,3 and has been used in a wide variety of clinical contexts (e.g. stroke, glioma and traumatic brain injury). 

The scale comprises six levels, from 0 to 5, of increasingly severe disability where 0-2 is generally considered a good outcome with individuals assuming complete functional independence. A modified Rankin score of 6 is often used to denote an individual who is deceased. 

Scale description

  • 0: no symptoms/normal
  • 1: no significant disability despite symptoms; able to carry out all usual duties and activities
  • 2: slight disability; unable to carry out all previous activities, but able to look after own affairs without assistance
  • 3: moderate disability; requiring some help, but able to walk without assistance
  • 4: moderately severe disability; unable to walk without assistance and unable to attend to own bodily needs without assistance
  • 5: severe disability; bedridden, incontinent and requiring constant nursing care and attention
  • 6: dead
Stroke and intracranial haemorrhage

Article information

rID: 57105
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.