NEW! We're excited to announce two new radiology learning pathways by Andrew Dixon and Frank Gaillard LEARN MORE

Spondylolisthesis grading system

A commonly adopted method of grading the severity of spondylolisthesis is the Meyerding classification. It divides the superior endplate of the vertebra below into 4 quarters. The grade depends on the location of the posteroinferior corner of the vertebra above.

This classification was originally developed for anterolistheses but can be adapted for retrolistheses, and some publications have done so 3.

  • grade I: 0-25%
  • grade II: 26-50% 
  • grade III: 51-75% 
  • grade IV: 76-100%  
  • grade V (spondyloptosis): >100%

History and etymology

The grading system is named after its inventor Henry W Meyerding, who was an American orthopedic surgeon at the Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota. He proposed the classification in an article in 1932 2.

Spinal trauma

Article information

rID: 2076
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Grading of spondylolisthesis
  • Meyerding classification

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewers/no ads

Cases and figures

  • Figure 1: grading
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 1: grade I
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 2: grade II
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 3: grade III
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Case 4: grade IV
    Drag here to reorder.
  • Updating… Please wait.

     Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

     Thank you for updating your details.