Tabar 5-tier grading system

Dr Henry Knipe et al.

The Tabar 5-tier grading system is used to classify mammographic lesions. This should not be confused with the Tabar classification of parenchymal patterns in breast imaging. It is a separate but translatable system to the BI-RADS classification system (please note that Tabar grade 3 ≠ BI-RADS 3). 


  • grade 1: normal
  • grade 2: benign
  • grade 3: equivocal/indeterminate
  • grade 4: suspicious for malignancy
  • grade 5: mammographically malignant
Breast imaging and pathology

Article information

rID: 40398
System: Breast
Tag: cases, refs
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Tabar 5-tier grading scheme
  • Tabar 5-tier grading system in mammography

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.