Toast classification in acute ischemic stroke

The TOAST (trial of ORG 10172 in acute stroke treatment) classification denotes five sub types of ischemic stroke.

  • large-artery atherosclerosis (embolus / thrombosis)*
  • cardioembolism (high-risk / medium-risk)*
  • small-vessel occlusion (lacune)*
  • stroke of other determined etiology *
  • stroke of undetermined etiology

It is thought to carry good inter observer agreement and predict prognosis, outcome, and management

Stroke and intracranial haemorrhage

Article information

rID: 13402
Synonyms or Alternate Spellings:
  • Toast classification system in acute ischemic stroke

ADVERTISEMENT: Supporters see fewer/no ads

Updating… Please wait.

 Unable to process the form. Check for errors and try again.

 Thank you for updating your details.